Just as we thought…

I’ve only been at this radio co-hosting for a month – “Money In Your Life” on VoiceAmerica radio at 7 am PT Fridays – or stream from the site or iTunes – but after every show, I want to know who listened and what you thought.  What I thought when I started this was: this is a great way to have a conversation that’s tough for people to have.  And we hope that’s true.  And what IS the conversation???    Money is on our minds every day: having it, getting it, saving it, spending it and, sometimes it is used for making suits…

Money as ornament - imagine having this in yur wallet?

Money as ornament – imagine having this in yur wallet?

And yet TALKING about money is, as most people tell me, harder than talking about, say, sex.  Why is that? Is it because we’re just supposed to KNOW what to do with it – how to earn it, how to spend it, how to make it last all of our lives?  I have a hunch (which of course I’ll share), but I’d love to hear from you.

And here’s my hunch: we don’t talk about it because there are a lot of people out there telling us that they can’t believe what we’re doing with our money, and if we’d only do THIS, we’d be set for life – and so we say to ourselves  “Everyone else got the memo on how to deal with money – and I didn’t.  So I’m not going to look stupid by asking.”

And then we get busy and things come up and time goes by and – well, you know the story.

But here’s the thing: we HAVE to talk about money and pay attention and ask questions – because we are being asked to make MORE decisions – with less REAL information.

So come back – and let’s talk about money in your life.

Leave a Reply

